The Wonders of Being an Astro-Journalist!!!

Being able to become a scientific journalist was pretty cool. I wish I had some more time to explore on Snapshot Serengeti, I would definitely do it. I saw that my question was not as easy to answer as I thought it would be.

The topic that I chose was very interesting to me and it was great to be able to explore it in a scientific manner.  It was a great experience. I would definitely recommend someone else participate in this program and if I had a chance, I would definitely do it again. I hope that one day I get to explore more about the project I worked on and this website. The thing that motivated me to choose this project was my love for animals and the fact that I’m not very much into astronomy. I learn how to make a plot using iPython and I learned the virtue of patience. I thought that the fact that lions can sleep up to 20 hours a day was very interesting. However, since I was not able to fully answer my question I was not able to learn anything very exciting about my topic.

Plot

I learn that zebras migrate and I learned that lions sleep a very long period of time, like domestic cats but even longer than them. Most importantly, I learned how to code on iPython. I wondered if I could have actually answer my question. Then, I would change the animals around to see if that would change anything. Also, I could change the way the plot is set up and make the x-axis the date each picture of the animals were taken and the y-axis be the actual location that the animal was seen.

Animals

My experience with presenting the website in class was very helpful. I got some feedback on how we could look at our research and how to make our plot look more presentable. Also, Keyaira and I got a lot of good comments about the design of our website and the titles and pictures we used for our caption. I thought I explained everything very well and had a projected voice. I wished that I could have had more time with the data analysis and making the plot looking good.

Like I said before, this was a very rewarding experience. I wish I could do it again but I will definitely recommend this to someone else, especially some one who likes computer science and/or astronomy. I will never forget the friends I meet and the things I did during this time. That’s all I have to say so, peace out peoples. -Drops the microphone, walks off the stage-

Snapshot Serengeti Project Website

Kendall

My name is Kendall and I love playing sports (I play 3 of them). I also love to read, eat, and sleep!!!

 

Leave a Reply

