Summer: Good or Bad?

by Jocelyn Nava

Who doesn’t like summer? There’s so many things to do! Go out with friends, watch TV all day, and being lazy! Ah the life, but did you know you’re killing your math skills? I remember in school that my advisor gave us a list of things to do in the summer, and for homework she made us research why being productive in the summer is important to students. It really shocked me that during the summer when can really lose a lot of our math skills like said in an article, “Most students lose about two months of grade level equivalency in mathematical computation skills over the summer months. Low-income students also lose more than two months in reading achievement, despite the fact that their middle-class peers make slight gains. “(National Summer Learning Association).

I realized that i was hurting myself, and that’s when I told myself I had to do something productive this summer. I grabbed my list, and I saw that the Adler was looking for interns. Working at the Adler has been such an adventure; i’ve meet new people, learned new skills, and my learning has grown. I think every student should take advantage of these opportunities because people can learn new skills like I did. This internship has taught me to not be afraid to ask a question, and that it doesn’t make you look dumb. Taking advantages like this can really help a person grow.

Cooper. “Know The Facts – National Summer Learning Association.” Know The Facts – National Summer Learning Association. N.p., 1996. Web. 14 Aug. 2013.

Leave a Reply

