Being a Summer Camp Intern

  by Amanda Sillman

What should I do with my summer? Before the beginning of the Summer I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do. I had a few fellow classmates express their ideas about the Summer Internship at The Adler Planetarium. The more I found out about it the more I fell in love with it. I received more information once Nathalie passed out flyers and some of the old interns actually told me how their experience were. When I read over all of the information I was dying to apply and find out if I was accepted! Once I was accepted my Summer Internship began!

The first week of work was really complicated and crazy. The interns had to learn all of their different positions. Of course everything played out more smoothly as the days went along. When it was my independent project day I was already decided on what I wanted to do. As a summer camp intern I was assigned an independent project to present at the Community Bash. My independent project was having little campers build a kit for an astronaut to use to travel to space safely. After that our supervisor had use building materials for the little campers that were going to arrive the following week. I was really excited to start working with little campers. I wanted to see their reactions to so many different things that occur around us everyday! By the end of the first week I knew for sure that this summer was going to be a good one! The first week of summer camps went well. I worked with four different camps over the four weeks. Being a summer camp intern was really special compared to different interns. We got to work with little campers hands on. We got to build materials and play with oobleck! Oobleck is a non-newtonian fluid that the campers got to play with and build rovers for.

As the weeks started passing faster and faster things got a lot easier. Planning for the Community Bash was a wreck because the weeks were going by so fast and before we knew it, it was time for the Bash. All of the interns ended up getting everything organized. Before we knew it, it was time for the Community Bash to begin! All of the interns put so much hard work and dedication into the Bash and it was a MAJOR SUCCESS! Working with the campers got a lot easier too because things calmed down and I was used to the schedules by now. I really enjoyed working with the little campers because they really kept me on my toes. I really knew that once I stepped in the classroom I had to put my little kid voice on and my little kid actions in gear to enjoy working with the campers!

As I am writing this it is the second to last week before my internship ends at the Adler. I am really sad that I have to leave because I met a lot of amazing people who made my days brighter coming into work. I didn’t really become close to anyone but I know that if I ever needed anyone the people I worked with would be there for me. The Summer Camp Interns became closer and grew a bond. Even if it was a really weird bond where it involved shopping. Sadly, during lunch one of our fellow interns got all of us addicted to online shopping! I am really sad that I am going to have to leave. I would like to stay in contact with the interns I worked with.
Lastly, I would like to thank Yeimi, Natalie, and Dr. Friedman for supporting us through everything. I couldn’t thank them more! They are amazing and made this so much fun!

Leave a Reply

